RSS Feed

Weaving Again

It takes forever to get a loom set up – or at least, that’s what it feels like to me.

I have a new loom now. It’s nothing fancy, just a 15 inch Cricket rigid heddle. Rigid heddle looms are small, portable looms, built for sampling and travel.

2014-04-20 18.24.58

My first warping effort was a disaster. I didn’t take the time to be sure that the warp was even and stayed even. I tried weaving anyway, and figured out that rigid heddle weaving is relaxing and fun – when the warp behaves itself. Because I hadn’t taken the time and care to warp properly, my warp was increasingly mis-behaving.

I bit the bullet and re-warped. Now it’s copacetic.

2014-04-20 18.25.04

Ignore the mess on the dining room table, please!

I’m also finally weaving on my large loom.  First I had to wind the long, long, long warp – the longest warp I’ve ever done. I took care in winding the warp, so it actually went on fairly easily. Then I had to thread the heddles. (I love the obscurity of weaving language. It’s like a secret handshake that only weavers know.) Once the heddles were threaded, the reed had to be sleyed. (Did I mention weavers have a secret language?) Finally, the treadles are connected, and it’s time to weave.

I’m using a new shuttle – a Bluster Bay end feed shuttle. Bluster Bay makes the Porsche of shuttles, and like a Porsche, it took some getting used to.

2014-04-20 14.30.01

This pic shows the yarn coming off the pirn (a/k/a bobbin – well, not really, but close enough). The yarn loops through the hooks. More hooks, more tension. Fewer hooks, less tension. Getting the tension right is critical, and took some getting used to.

2014-04-20 14.29.52

You can see from this picture that the selvedge is uneven in places. Where it shows dark blue (lower right), the tension was too high and the selvedge was scrunched together. Where you can see the white loops, the tension was too loose, and the weft sticks out on the side.

I’m getting the hang of it though!

 

2014-04-20 14.29.22 2014-04-20 14.30.13

 

The weaving is going quickly. After the pick-up double weave, it’s amazing how quickly this weaving is going.

Happy Easter, everyone.

Leave a Reply

